SCHOOL GOVERNOR APPOINTMENTS PANEL

MEETING, 31ST AUGUST, 2017

Present – Councillors Mrs. Thomas (Chairman), Kirk-Robinson (as deputy for Dean), Morris, Murray, Peel and C. Wild.

Also in attendance:-

Mr J. Ashworth Governance Services Manager

Mr. I. D. Mulholland Principal Democratic Services Officer

An apology for absence was submitted on behalf of Councillor Dean.

Councillor Mrs. Thomas in the Chair

1. MINUTES

The minutes of the proceedings of the meeting of the School Governor Appointments Panel held on 20th December, 2016 were submitted.

Resolved – That the minutes be signed as a correct record.

2. EXCLUSION OF PRESS AND PUBLIC

Resolved - That, under Section 100A(4) of the Local Government Act 1972, the public be excluded from the meeting for the following item of business on the grounds that it involves the likely disclosure of exempt information as specified in paragraph 1 of Part 1 of Schedule 12A to the Act; and that it be deemed that, in all the circumstances of the case, the public interest in its exemption outweighs the public interest in its disclosure.

6. NOMINATION OF LOCAL AUTHORITY GOVERNORS

The Director of People submitted a report which requested members to consider the nominations of Local Authority (LA) Governors in the light of the Bolton Code of Practice for LA Governor Appointments.

Resolved – (i) That the following nominations be agreed as the prospective governor for appointment by the relevant Governing Body, viz:-

- Church Road Primary School Anthony Lovick
- Heathfield Primary School Daniel Gauld
- Johnson Fold Primary School -Eleanor Blundell

- Ladybridge High School Kelly Lauren
- Ladybridge Primary School Lauren Kozera
- Leverhulme Primary School Zebulnisa Butt
- Markland Hill Primary School William Riley
- SS Osmund and Andrew RC Primary School -Paul Willan
- St. Joseph RC High School Leah Gillooly
- St. Saviour CE Primary School Anne Nugent
- St. Thomas of Canterbury RC Primary School Rita Harmer
- Thomasson Memorial School Fatima Harris.
- (ii) That the nomination of Mrs Owen for St Columba's RC Primary School be rejected as Mrs Owen was currently employed to work at another local school, thus making her ineligible.
- (iii) That it be noted that all nominations will be subject to a pre-appointment check.

(The meeting started at 10.30 p.m. and finished at 11.15 am)