# BOLTON METROPOLITAN BOROUGH 2021/2022

\_\_\_\_\_

### **ANNUAL MEETING OF THE COUNCIL**

### 26<sup>th</sup> MAY 2021

Present - Councillors Mrs. Thomas (Mayor), Mrs. Fairclough (Deputy Mayor), Ayub, Baines, Brady, Bullock, Challender, Connor, Cox, Dean, Donaghy, Eckersley-Fallon, Finney, Flitcroft, Galloway, Grant, Greenhalgh, Hartigan, Haslam, Hayes, Haworth, Heslop, Hewitt, Hill, Hornby, Iqbal, Jiva, Khurram, McKeon, Morgan, Murray, Muslim, Parkinson, Pattison, Peel, Radcliffe, Rimmer, Sanders, Sherrington, Silvester, Taylor-Burke, Veevers, Walsh, Warren, Weatherby, T. Wilkinson, Wright and Zaman.

### 1. ELECTION OF THE MAYOR

It was moved by Councillor Greenhalgh, seconded by Councillor Peel and unanimously agreed –

That Councillor Mrs. Thomas be elected Mayor of the Metropolitan Borough of Bolton for the Municipal Year 2021/2022.

### 2. APPOINTMENT OF THE DEPUTY MAYOR

It was moved by Councillor Peel, seconded by Councillor Greenhalgh and unanimously agreed –

That Councillor Mrs. Fairclough be appointed Deputy Mayor of the Metropolitan Borough of Bolton for the Municipal Year 2021/2022.

### 3. MINUTES

The minutes of the proceedings of the meeting of the Council held on 17<sup>th</sup> March 2021 were submitted and signed as a correct record.

### 4. APPOINTMENT OF THE LEADER OF THE COUNCIL

It was moved by Councillor Cox, seconded by Councillor Mrs. Fairclough –

That Councillor Greenhalgh be appointed Leader of the Council until the Annual Meeting of the Council in May, 2022 or until such time as the Council removes him from office.

The Motion was then put to the vote when the voting was as follows:-

### For the Motion, 31 viz:

Councillors Baines, Brady, Bullock, Connor, Cox, Dean, Eckersley-Fallon, Mrs. Fairclough, Finney, Flitcroft, Galloway, Grant, Greenhalgh, Hartigan, Haslam, Hewitt, Hill, Hornby, Morgan, Muslim, Parkinson, Pattison, Radcliffe, Rimmer, Sanders, Taylor-Burke, Walsh, Warren, Weatherby, T. Wilkinson and Wright.

### Against the Motion, 16 viz:

Councillors Ayub, Challender, Donaghy, Hayes, Haworth, Heslop, Iqbal, Jiva, Khurram, McKeon, Murray, Peel, Sherrington, Silvester, Veevers and Zaman.

# Abstained, 0

Whereupon, the motion was declared carried.

# 5. AMENDMENTS TO THE CONSTITUTION OF THE COUNCIL

It was moved by Councillor Greenhalgh and seconded by Councillor Cox -

That the Constitution of the Council (including changes to Standing Orders, Standing Orders relating to Contracts and the Council's Scheme of Delegation) and the Members Allowance Scheme be approved.

The Motion was then put to the vote when the voting was as follows:-

### For the Motion, 47 viz:

Councillors Ayub, Baines, Brady, Bullock, Challender, Connor, Cox, Dean, Donaghy, Eckersley-Fallon, Mrs. Fairclough, Finney, Flitcroft, Galloway, Grant, Greenhalgh, Hartigan, Haslam, Hayes, Haworth, Heslop, Hewitt, Hill, Hornby, Iqbal, Jiva, Khurram, McKeon, Morgan, Murray, Muslim, Parkinson, Pattison, Peel, Radcliffe, Rimmer, Sanders, Sherrington, Silvester, Taylor-Burke, Veevers, Walsh, Warren, Weatherby, T. Wilkinson, Wright and Zaman.

Against the Motion, 0

Abstained, 0

Whereupon, the motion was declared carried.

# 6. APPOINTMENT OF COMMITTEES, PANELS, POLICY DEVELOPMENT GROUPS, OUTSIDE BODIES AND THEIR POWERS AND DUTIES

It was moved by Councillor Greenhalgh, seconded by Councillor Dean –

 (i) That the memberships of the Committees/various bodies/outside bodies and their powers and duties as set out in the circulated documents be agreed, (together with those members appointed to attend meetings of the Cabinet) and that the Leader of the Council be authorised to amend any of the GMCA/AGMA nominations, if required, before the annual meeting of the GMCA/AGMA Executive Board.

(ii) That the Council agrees to waive political balance rules which apply to the YPO Joint Committee in accordance with section 17 of the Local Government and Housing Act 1989.

The Motion was then put to the vote when the voting was as follows:-

### For the Motion, 34 viz:

Councillors Baines, Brady, Bullock, Connor, Cox, Dean, Eckersley-Fallon, Mrs. Fairclough, Finney, Flitcroft, Galloway, Grant, Greenhalgh, Hartigan, Haslam, Hayes, Heslop, Hewitt, Hill, Hornby, Morgan, Muslim, Parkinson, Pattison, Radcliffe, Rimmer, Sanders, Taylor-Burke, Veevers, Walsh, Warren, Weatherby, T. Wilkinson and Wright.

# Against the Motion, 0

# Abstained, 13 viz:

Councillors Ayub, Challender, Donaghy, Haworth, Iqbal, Jiva, Khurram, McKeon, Murray, Peel, Sherrington, Silvester and Zaman.

Whereupon, the motion was declared carried.

#### 7. DATES OF COUNCIL MEETINGS IN 2021/2022

It was moved by Councillor Dean, seconded by Councillor Morgan and agreed –

# (a) Meetings of the Council 2021/2022

Wednesday, 23<sup>rd</sup> June, 2021 at 7:00 p.m. Wednesday, 18<sup>th</sup> August, 2021 at 7:00 p.m.

Wednesday, 6th October, 2021 at 7:00 p.m. Wednesday, 24<sup>th</sup> November, 2021 at 7:00 p.m. Wednesday, 19<sup>th</sup> January, 2022 at 7.00 p.m. Wednesday, 16<sup>th</sup> February, 2022 (Budget Meeting Only) at 7:00 p.m. Wednesday, 16<sup>th</sup> March, 2022 at 7:00 p.m.

### (b) Mayor's Inauguration

Wednesday 18<sup>th</sup> May, 2022 (Mayor Making) at 11.15 a.m.

# (c) Annual Meeting of the Council, 2022

Wednesday, 25<sup>th</sup> May, 2022 (Annual Council) at 7:00 p.m.

(The meeting started at 7.00 p.m. and finished at 7.50 p.m.)