SCHOOL GOVERNOR APPOINTMENTS PANEL

MEETING, 29TH OCTOBER, 2013

Present – Councillors McKeon (Chairman), Ashcroft, Cunliffe (as deputy for Councillor Murray), Mrs Fairclough, Morris, and Peel.

Also in attendance:-

Mr J. Ashworth Lead Officer, Governor Support

Mr I. D. Mulholland Principal Democratic Services Officer

Apologies foe absences were tabled on behalf of Councillors Murray and Mrs Thomas.

Councillor McKeon, Chairman

4. MINUTES

The minutes of the proceedings of the meeting of the School Governor Appointments Panel held on 12th June, 2013 were submitted.

Further to minute 3, the meeting was informed that the draft code of practice for those governing body's constituted under the new regulations had not been finalised and would be submitted to the next meeting.

It was noted that the model elegibility criteria had been submitted to those governing bodies that had reconstituted under the 2012 regulations.

Resolved – That the minutes be signed as a correct record.

5. EXCLUSION OF PRESS AND PUBLIC

Resolved - That, under Section 100A(4) of the Local Government Act 1972, the public be excluded from the meeting for the following item of business on the grounds that it involves the likely disclosure of exempt information as specified in paragraph 1 of Part 1 of Schedule 12A to the Act; and that it be deemed that, in all the circumstances of the case, the public interest in its exemption outweighs the public interest in its disclosure.

6. APPOINTMENT/RE-APPOINTMENT OF LOCAL AUTHORITY GOVERNORS

The Director of Children's Services submitted a report which requested members to consider the appointment/re-appointment of Local Authority Governors in accordance with the Bolton Code of Practice.

He also tabled a copy of the current criteria / person specification for appointments.

Resolved – (i) That the following appointments be made to the Governing Bodies indicated, viz:-

Bolton Muslim Girls School	-	Mrs. J. Chapman
Highfield Primary	-	Mrs. D. Newall and Ms. R. Singh
Markland Hill Primary School	-	Mrs. L. Caswell
Masefield Primary School	-	Mr. C. Graham
Mytham Primary	-	Ms. L. MacNeill
SS Peter and Paul RC Primary	-	Mrs. F. Hill
St. Mary's RC, Horwich	-	Cllr Murray
St. Maxentius CE	-	Mrs. Critchlow
St. William of York RC	-	Mr. S. Gareth
The Oaks Primary	-	Cllr Wild

(ii) That a nomination for appointment be made to the following Governing Body:

Brownlow Fold Primary - Mr. I. Pandeya

(iii) That the Governors and Management Committee Members attached to the report, whose terms of office have just expired or are due to expire, be reappointed.

(The meeting started at 1.00pm and finished at 1.24pm)