### **BOLTON METROPOLITAN BOROUGH**

## 2022/2023

\_\_\_\_\_

# 18<sup>TH</sup> MAY 2022

Present - Councillors Mrs. Thomas (Mayor), Mrs. Fairclough (Deputy Mayor), Adia, Atcha, M. Ayub, N. Ayub, Baines, Brady, Bullock, Challender, Connor, Cowen, Cox, Dean, Donaghy, Eckersley-Fallon, Mrs. Fairclough, Finney, Galloway, Grant, Hartigan, Haslam, Haworth, Hayes, Hewitt, Hill, Hornby, Iqbal, Jiva, Khurram, McKeon, Meehan, Mistry, Morgan, Mort, Murray, Muslim, Newall, Patel, Peel, Priest, Radcliffe, Rimmer, Sanders, Sherrington, Silvester, Taylor-Burke, Walsh, Warren and Wright.

### 4. ELECTION OF MAYOR

The Chief Executive called upon the Council to elect a Councillor to be Mayor of Bolton for the ensuing year.

Whereupon -

Councillor Akhtar Zaman having been proposed by Councillor Cox and seconded by Councillor Donaghy was elected Mayor of the Metropolitan Borough for the ensuing year, and the retiring Mayor declared him elected accordingly.

The newly-elected Mayor then accepted the said Office by making and subscribing the declaration required in that behalf.

Following the election of the Mayor, Councillor Zaman thereon presided over the meeting.

### 5. APPOINTMENT OF DEPUTY MAYOR

It was moved by Councillor Cox, seconded by Councillor Peel and resolved –

That Councillor Mrs. Linda Thomas be appointed as Deputy Mayor until immediately after the Election of Mayor at the next Meeting of the Council on 17<sup>th</sup> May, 2023.

(The meeting started at 11.15 a.m. and finished at 12.00 noon)