BOLTON METROPOLITAN BOROUGH

2022/2023

18TH MAY 2022

Present - Councillors Mrs. Thomas (Mayor), Mrs. Fairclough (Deputy Mayor), Abdullah, Adia, Allen, Atcha, M. Ayub, N. Ayub, Baines, Brady, Bullock, Challender, Connor, Cowen, Cox, Dean, Donaghy, Eckersley-Fallon, Finney, Fletcher, Galloway, Grant, Hartigan, Haslam, Haworth, Hayes, Heslop, Hewitt, Hill, Hornby, Iqbal, Jiva, Khurram, McKeon, McMulkin, Meehan, Mistry, Morgan, Mort, Murray, Muslim, Newall, Patel, Peel, Priest, Radcliffe, Rimmer, Sanders, Sherrington, Silvester, Taylor-Burke, Walsh, Warren, Weatherby, D. Wilkinson, T. Wilkinson, Wright and Zaman.

1. APPOINTMENT OF THE LEADER OF THE COUNCIL

It was moved by Councillor Mrs. Fairclough and seconded by Councillor Dean -

That Councillor Cox be appointed Leader of the Council until the Annual Meeting of the Council in May, 2023 or until such time as the Council removes him from office.

Whereupon as an amendment, it was moved by Councillor Khurram and seconded by Councillor Jiva -

That Councillor Peel be appointed Leader of the Council until the Annual Meeting of the Council in May, 2023 or until such time as the Council removes him from office.

The amendment was then put to the vote, where the voting was as follows: –

For the Amendment, 21 viz:

Councillors Adia, Allen, Atcha, M. Ayub, N. Ayub, Challender, Donaghy, Fletcher, Haworth, Iqbal, Jiva, Khurram, McKeon, Mistry, Mort, Murray, Peel, Sherrington, Silvester, Mrs. Thomas and Zaman.

Against the Amendment, 36 viz:

Councillors Baines, Brady, Bullock, Connor, Cowen, Cox, Dean, Eckersley-Fallon, Mrs. Fairclough, Finney, Galloway, Grant, Hartigan, Haslam, Hayes, Heslop, Hewitt, Hill, Hornby, McMulkin, Meehan, Morgan, Muslim, Newall, Patel, Priest, Radcliffe, Rimmer, Sanders, Taylor-Burke, Walsh, Warren, Weatherby, D. Wilkinson, T. Wilkinson and Wright.

Abstained, 1 viz:

Councillor Abdullah.

Whereupon, the amendment was declared lost.

The original motion was then put to the vote, where the voting was as follows:-

For the Motion, 24 viz:

Councillors Baines, Brady, Bullock, Connor, Cowen, Cox, Dean, Eckersley-Fallon, Mrs. Fairclough, Finney, Galloway, Hartigan, Haslam, Hewitt, Hill, Meehan, Morgan, Muslim, Patel, Radcliffe, Rimmer, Taylor-Burke, Walsh and Warren.

Against the Motion, 33 viz:

Councillors Adia, Allen, Atcha, M. Ayub, N. Ayub, Challender, Donaghy, Fletcher, Grant, Haworth, Hayes, Heslop, Hornby, Iqbal, Jiva, Khurram, McKeon, McMulkin, Mistry, Mort, Murray, Newall, Peel, Priest, Sanders, Sherrington, Silvester, Mrs. Thomas, Weatherby, D. Wilkinson, T. Wilkinson, Wright and Zaman.

Abstained, 1 viz:

Councillor Abdullah.

Whereupon, the original motion was declared lost.

2. FURTHER CONSIDERATION OF THE APPOINTMENT OF THE LEADER OF THE COUNCIL

It was moved by Councillor Mrs. Fairclough and seconded by Councillor Khurram -

That Councillor Cox or Councillor Peel be appointed Leader of the Council until the Annual Meeting of the Council in May, 2023 or until such time as the Council removes him from office.

The Motion was then put to the vote, where the voting was as follows:-

For Councillor Cox, 27 viz:

Councillors Abdullah, Baines, Brady, Bullock, Connor, Cowen, Cox, Dean, Eckersley-Fallon, Mrs. Fairclough, Finney, Galloway, Hartigan, Haslam, Hewitt, Hill, Hornby, Meehan, Morgan, Muslim, Patel, Radcliffe, Rimmer, Sanders, Taylor-Burke, Walsh and Warren.

For Councillor Peel, 19 viz:

Councillors Adia, Atcha, M. Ayub, N. Ayub, Challender, Donaghy, Haworth, Iqbal, Jiva, Khurram, McKeon, Mistry, Mort, Murray, Peel, Sherrington, Silvester, Mrs. Thomas and Zaman.

None of the above, 12 viz:

Councillors Allen, Fletcher, Grant, Hayes, Heslop, McMulkin, Newall, Priest, Weatherby, D. Wilkinson, T. Wilkinson and Wright.

Whereupon, Councillor Cox was appointed Leader of the Council until the Annual Meeting of the Council in May, 2023 or until such time as the Council removes him from office.

3. APPOINTMENT OF THE MEMBERSHIP OF THE CONSTITUTIONAL PANEL

It was moved by Councillor Cox and seconded by Councillor Mrs. Fairclough and agreed-

That Councillors Cox, Dean, Mrs. Fairclough, Galloway, Morgan, Walsh, Donaghy, Haworth, McKeon, Peel, Mrs. Thomas, Hayes, Sanders, Grant, Allen and Newall be appointed members of the Constitutional Panel for the Municipal Year 2022/2023.

(The meeting started at 10.00 a.m. and finished at 11.00 a.m.)