PLANNING COMMITTEE

MEETING, 6th FEBRUARY, 2020

Present – Councillors Walsh (Chairman), Ayub (Vice-Chairman), Connor, Cunliffe, Dean, Galloway (as deputy for Councillor Allen), Haworth (as deputy for Councillor Darvesh), Hayes, Hornby, Peel, Radcliffe, Sanders, Sherrington, Weatherby, Wilkinson and Wright

Apologies for absence were submitted on behalf of Councillors Abdullah, Allen, Bullock, Darvesh and Watters

Councillor Walsh in the Chair.

30. COUNCILLOR C. WILD

The Chairman informed the Committee of the recent sad death of Councillor C. Wild.

The Committee observed a minute silence in her memory.

31. MINUTES

The minutes of the proceedings of the meeting of the Committee held on 16th January, 2020 were submitted and signed as a correct record.

32. PLANNING APPLICATIONS

Under the approved delegation arrangements, the Committee considered certain applications, as set out in the report submitted by the Director of Place, for permission to undertake developments, in accordance with the Town and Country Planning Act.

The following members of the Committee visited the site of application numbered 06410/19:

Councillors Ayub, Hayes, Radcliffe, Walsh and Wright

(Councillors Dean, Haworth and Wilkinson submitted their apologies).

Councillor Cox, in his capacity as Ward Councillor, attended the meeting and spoke in respect of application numbered 06410/19.

Members of the public addressed the Committee in relation to the following applications:

06410/19

Tree Preservation Order 2019 – Bolton (719 and 721 Blackburn Road)

Resolved - That the various planning applications submitted by the Director of Place be dealt with as follows:-

Application Number	Proposal and Location	Decision
05828/19	Outline application for the demolition of industrial units and erection of 22 dwellings (access, appearance, layout and scale details only) at Shepherd Cross Street Industrial Estate, Shepherd Cross Street	be delegated to the Director of Place for approval, subject to conditions as recommended in
		Members voting for approval of the application (16): Councillors Ayub, Connor, Cunliffe,

		Dean, Galloway, Haworth, Hayes, Hornby, Peel, Radcliffe, Sanders, Sherrington, Walsh, Weatherby, Wilkinson and Wright.
07501/19	Temporary change of use of former car park for a period of 5 months for the storage of paving materials on car park, Queen Street	Approved, subject to conditions, as recommended in the report. Members voting for approval of the application (16): Councillors Ayub, Connor, Cunliffe, Dean, Galloway, Haworth, Hayes, Hornby, Peel, Radcliffe, Sanders, Sherrington, Walsh, Weatherby, Wilkinson and Wright.
06410/19	Erection of 174 dwellings and associated works including access, landscaping, public open space with ecological mitigation and other associated works on land at Bowlands Hey, Westhoughton	Refused. The proposed residential development of the application site would represent

inappropriate development of 'Other Protected Open Land' and therefore would be contrary to Policy CG6AP of Bolton's Allocations Plan and Policies OA3.3 and OA3.6 of Bolton's Core Strategy. The proposed development would also have significant local landscape and visual impacts which would not maintain or respect the landscape character of the area, contrary to Policies CG3 and OA3 of Bolton's Core Strategy. Applying the "tilted balance" of paragraph 11 of the National Planning Policy Framework, it is considered that the adverse impacts of the development would significantly and demonstrably outweigh the

		benefits of the proposed development. Members voting for refusal of the application (15): Councillors Ayub, Connor, Cunliffe, Dean, Galloway, Haworth, Hayes, Hornby, Peel, Radcliffe, Sanders, Sherrington, Weatherby, Wilkinson and Wright.
		abstaining (1):
		Councillor Walsh
Tree Preservation Order	Bolton (719 and 721 Blackburn Road) Tree Preservation Order	Confirmed – without Modification.
		Members voting for confirmation of the Tree Preservation Order (14):
		Councillors Ayub, Connor, Cunliffe, Dean, Galloway, Haworth, Hornby, Peel, Radcliffe, Sanders,

Sherrington, Walsh, Weatherby and Wright.
Members abstaining (2):
Councillors Hayes and Wilkinson

(The meeting started at 2.00pm and finished at 3.45pm)