SCHOOL GOVERNOR APPOINTMENTS PANEL

MEETING, 20TH FEBRUARY, 2020

Present – Councillors Cunliffe, Dean and Hayes

Also in attendance:-

Mr. J. Ashworth	Governance Services Manager
Mrs S. Bailey	Principal Democratic Services Officer

4. APPOINTMENT OF CHAIRMAN

Resolved – That Councillor Dean be appointed Chairman of the Panel for the purposes of this meeting.

Councillor Dean here took the Chair

5. MINUTES

The minutes of the proceedings of the meeting of the School Governor Appointments Panel held on 28th August, 2019 were submitted.

Resolved – That the minutes be signed as a correct record.

6. EXCLUSION OF PRESS AND PUBLIC

Resolved - That, under Section 100A(4) of the Local Government Act 1972, the public be excluded from the meeting for the following item of business on the grounds that it involves the likely disclosure of exempt information as specified in paragraph 1 of Part 1 of Schedule 12A to the Act; and that it be deemed that, in all the circumstances of the case, the public interest in its exemption outweighs the public interest in its disclosure.

7. NOMINATION OF LOCAL AUTHORITY GOVERNORS

The Director of People submitted a report which requested members to consider the nominations of Local Authority Governors in the light of the Bolton Code of Practice for LA Governor Appointments.

Resolved – (i) That the following nominations be agreed as the prospective governor for appointment by the relevant Governing Body, as follows:-

- Alexandra Nursery Miss G. Andrews;
- Church Road Primary School Mrs A. Bradbury;

- Brownlow Fold Primary School Ms J. Welch;
- Markland Hill Primary School Mrs S. Priest;
- Mount St Joseph RC High School Mr D. Sukula;
- St John's CE Primary School, Kearsley Ms A. Quigley
- St Stephen CE Primary School, Kearsley Moor Mr J. Seggie
- St Thomas of Canterbury RC Primary School Mrs H. Lowe

(ii) That Mr M. Chughtai be nominated as a prospective governor for any of the current vacancies at Blackrod Primary School, Our Lady of Lourdes RC Primary School, SS Peter and Paul RC Primary School, St Stephen and All Martyrs CE Primary School, St Mary's (Horwich) RC Primary School and The Gates (Westhoughton) Primary School; and

(ii) That it be noted that all nominations will be subject to a pre-appointment check.

(The meeting started at 1.00pm and finished at 1.20pm)