SCHOOL GOVERNOR APPOINTMENTS PANEL

MEETING, 15TH JANUARY, 20210

Present – Councillors Galloway (Chairman), Dean (Vice-Chairman), Donaghy, Hayes and Iqbal

Also in attendance:-

Ms. E. Stoddard Mrs S. Bailey Governance Support Officer Principal Democratic Services Officer

Councillor Galloway in the Chair

1. MINUTES

The minutes of the proceedings of the meeting of the School Governor Appointments Panel held on 20th February, 2020 were submitted.

Resolved – That the minutes be signed as a correct record.

2. EXCLUSION OF PRESS AND PUBLIC

Resolved - That, under Section 100A(4) of the Local Government Act 1972, the public be excluded from the meeting for the following item of business on the grounds that it involves the likely disclosure of exempt information as specified in paragraph 1 of Part 1 of Schedule 12A to the Act; and that it be deemed that, in all the circumstances of the case, the public interest in its exemption outweighs the public interest in its disclosure.

3. NOMINATION OF LOCAL AUTHORITY GOVERNORS

Coucillor Galloway declared an interest in the Egerton Primary School nomination as she had applied for the Governor vacancy. She left the meeting during the consideration and determination thereof.

Councillor Dean took the Chair in her absence

The Director of Children's Services submitted a report which requested members to consider the nominations of Local Authority Governors in the light of the Bolton Code of Practice for LA Governor Appointments.

Resolved – (i) That the following nominations be agreed as the prospective governor for appointment by the relevant Governing Body, as follows:-

- Blackrod Primary School Mr D. Sweeney
- Egerton Primary School Councillor A. Galloway
- Sacred Heart RC Primary School Mr S. Harrington
- St Stephen and All Martyrs Primary School Mr M. Chester
- St Mary's RC Horwich Primary School Mr L. Lane

(ii) That it be noted that all nominations will be subject to a pre-appointment check

(The meeting started at 10.00am and finished at 10.20am)